Monday November 9 2009
Counter-Strike
Official Design Partner

GotFrag eSports Forums

scam or not?

1
46% Ranking 46% Ranking 46% Ranking 46% Ranking
0 Frags
+   -

I just received this email from : From: Nobody (nobody@srv20.000webhost.com)

> From: (noreply@steampowered.com) Steam's Brithday Giveaway Dear Steam user,
This is an automated message generated by Steam account administration to activate your free version of any Half-Life based game!
Please follow the following steps,

*Visit the Steam homepage (http://www.steampowered.com/)
*Click on "Upgrade Now".
*Log yourself in by using your Steam Username and Password.

(If you are in a public place, make sure you are the only one that sees your account information)

*After logging in you will be emailed an activation code, copy the code and enter it into the confirmation box.

After following all these steps, your game is now activated on your Steam account.
You can now go to the 'Games' tab on Steam and download your free version of any Half-Life based game.

Signed,

The Steam Team
To contact us, email (support@steampowered.com)
==============
This notification has been sent to the e-mail address you provided when you created your Steam account. For information on Valve's privacy policy, please visit (http://www.valvesoftware.com/privacy.htm)
2
152% Ranking 152% Ranking 152% Ranking 152% Ranking
0 Frags
+   -

Use an account w/o any thing on it.



then pm it to me

This comment was edited at 01/06/2009 8:46 PM
BLACKHAWK

scam bro some1 posted it this morning the same email
4
64% Ranking 64% Ranking 64% Ranking 64% Ranking
+1 Frags
+   -

Definitely NOT a scam.
Just look at how legit the email is "nobody@srv20.000webhost.com"
#4
5
51% Ranking 51% Ranking 51% Ranking 51% Ranking
0 Frags
+   -

so blatant
She calls me her doughnut. I call her my glazing.
6
20% Ranking 20% Ranking 20% Ranking 20% Ranking
0 Frags
+   -

lol .
7
17% Ranking 17% Ranking 17% Ranking 17% Ranking
0 Frags
+   -

birthday is spelled wrong...lol
8
46% Ranking 46% Ranking 46% Ranking 46% Ranking
0 Frags
+   -

At first I thought it was legit cause I saw from noreply@steampowered.com ,now I just checked the url its links to this : http://csprob.uuuq.com/ .
But how can he know my steam email ?

This comment was edited at 01/06/2009 8:50 PM
9
152% Ranking 152% Ranking 152% Ranking 152% Ranking
0 Frags
+   -

It's a nerd obviously.
BLACKHAWK
10
41% Ranking 41% Ranking 41% Ranking 41% Ranking
0 Frags
+   -

trace the email address and beat them up
KSHARP SAVE US!!! "rift is the smartest man on these forums when ksharp isnt posting, dont argue."
11
41% Ranking 41% Ranking 41% Ranking 41% Ranking
0 Frags
+   -

Ohh that's legit, but it only works if you have a 4 digit with proof.

i dont understand why would they tell you to go to steampowered.com which is a legit site and put in your info? its like tghey arent trying to get your account they are just trying to make you log in? lol
13
152% Ranking 152% Ranking 152% Ranking 152% Ranking
0 Frags
+   -

read #8
BLACKHAWK
14
51% Ranking 51% Ranking 51% Ranking 51% Ranking
0 Frags
+   -

#12 its a hidden url. like when on AIM i send my friends a youtube link but inside it is hidden meat spin.
She calls me her doughnut. I call her my glazing.
15
103% Ranking 103% Ranking 103% Ranking 103% Ranking
-2 Frags
+   -

lol #7 i thuohgt tahts hwo yuo speel brithdya?? btw i work for the ny times
#highhopes
16
5% Ranking 5% Ranking 5% Ranking 5% Ranking
0 Frags
+   -

legit
Founder of Keyboard on Head
17
40% Ranking 40% Ranking 40% Ranking 40% Ranking
0 Frags
+   -

legit 4 sht
18
20% Ranking 20% Ranking 20% Ranking 20% Ranking
0 Frags
+   -

#7 it's always a spelling typo FTL..

Submit Comments

Registered Users Only

In order to post comments, you must be a registered member. If you have not registered, it's free and easy!

Latest Poll